FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Sept. 27, 2013
Contact: Cheryl M. Sparks
NOT PAYING MARYLAND TOLLS BECOMES RISKY BUSINESS
Three Days Left to Pay Outstanding Tolls without Any Fees
BALTIMORE, MD – On Tuesday, Oct. 1, the MD Transportation Authority (MDTA) flips the switch on a new Video Toll collection process to help the agency recoup the money owed by drivers who use the State’s toll facilities and choose not to pay. A new law that took effect on July 1 puts “teeth” into the process the MDTA uses to collect unpaid Video Tolls* and gives motorists an added incentive to make prompt payment. With Video Tolling, the MDTA uses license plate information to identify registered vehicle owners with the Motor Vehicle Administration and then mails the owner a notice to pay the Video Toll after traveling.
Under the new process, registered vehicle owners receive a Notice of Toll Due (NOTD) for using any of Maryland’s eight toll facilities without paying with cash or E-ZPass®. The NOTD allows the vehicle owner to pay the Video Toll transaction within 30 days without any penalties or additional fees.
Those who do not pay their Video Toll within 30 days will receive a civil citation and $50 fine for each unpaid Video Toll transaction in addition to the Video Toll amount. The owner will have the option to pay the citation and fine or contest the citation in District Court. Failure to pay the citation and fine could lead to non-renewal or suspension of the owner’s vehicle registration and/or referral to Maryland’s Central Collection Unit.
“The ability to flag for non-renewal or suspend the registration of motorists who continue to ignore their bills gives the MDTA the hammer it needs to collect Video Tolls,” said MDTA Deputy Executive Secretary Deb Sharpless. “The MDTA also is assuring motorists who do pay that we are not letting toll violators get away without paying.”
The MDTA has ended the practice of imposing administrative fees on unpaid toll accounts. Anyone with unpaid tolls will have until Monday, Sept. 30, to pay their toll balances without any administrative fees.
Customers with unpaid Maryland tolls can pay by the following methods:
- Visit ezpassmd.com;
- Mail check/money order payable to E-ZPass Maryland to P.O. Box 17600, Baltimore, MD 21297;
- Call the E-ZPass Maryland Customer Service Center during regular business hours (7 a.m. - 6 p.m., Monday – Friday) at 1-888-321-6824;
- Visit an E-ZPass Maryland Stop-In Center.
The new Video Toll collection process allows the MDTA to enter into reciprocal agreements with other states to strengthen interagency collection of outstanding tolls, as well as allows for the growth of all electronic tolling (AET) in Maryland.
Learn more about the new Video Toll collection process at ezpassmd.com. *NOTE: Video Toll Rates at all Maryland toll facilities are 150% of the base rate with a minimum of $1/maximum of $15 above the base rate.