FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Nov. 13, 2014

Contact:          Cheryl M. Sparks or Rebecca Freeberger

                        410-537-1017 

REMINDER:  TOLL VIOLATORS MUST PAY TO AVOID SUSPENSION OF VEHICLE REGISTRATIONS

BALTIMORE, MD – Next week, the MD Transportation Authority (MDTA) will begin sending courtesy-reminder notices to the registered owners of approximately 131,000 vehicles with unpaid toll violations and civil penalties before it begins referring these violators for non-renewal and suspension of their vehicle registrations in January.  Approximately 9,000 of these registrations are at risk of suspension. 

The ability to flag the registrations of motorists who continue to ignore their bills – even after ample time to pay – gives the MDTA the tool it needs to collect Video Tolls.  The MDTA is assuring the 99 percent of motorists who do pay their tolls that it is not letting toll violators get away without paying. In addition, 93,000 out-of-state registered owners will have their Maryland toll debt referred to Maryland’s Central Collection Unit (CCU) in January.

In July 2013, new legislation established a civil citation process to help the State collected unpaid tolls.  Following the law’s implementation in October 2013, more drivers now are paying their Video Tolls.  The payment rate for Video Toll transactions has increased from approximately 60 to 70 percent.  Video Tolls represent less than three percent of the MDTA’s total transactions and toll revenues. 

With Video Tolling, registered vehicle owners receive a Notice of Toll Due (NOTD) for using any of Maryland’s eight toll facilities without paying with cash or E-ZPass®. The NOTD allows the vehicle owner to pay the Video Toll transaction within 30 days without any penalties or additional fees.

Those who do not pay within 30 days receive a civil citation and $50 fine for each unpaid Video Toll transaction in addition to the Video Toll amount.  The owner may pay the citation and fine or contest the citation in District Court.  Motorists who do not pay or contest civil citations and fines within 30 days will be referred to the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) as follows:

  • Less than $1,000 (unpaid tolls and fines) – Referred for non-renewal flag of vehicle registration.
  • $1,000 or more (unpaid tolls and fines) – Referred for suspension of vehicle registration.

To ensure their license plates or toll debt are not referred to the Maryland MVA or to the CCU in January 2015, it is advisable for violators to pay up by Jan. 6, 2015.

The MDTA estimates that this backlog of registration flagging and CCU referrals resulting from the implementation of the law last October will be cleared in spring 2015.  At that time, the referral process will operate automatically on a daily basis.

Customers with unpaid Maryland tolls can pay by the following methods:

  • Visit ezpassmd.com;
  • Mail check/money order payable to E-ZPass Maryland to P.O. Box 17600, Baltimore, MD 21297;
  • Call the E-ZPass Maryland Customer Service Center during regular business hours (7 a.m. - 6 p.m., Monday – Friday) at 1-888-321-6824;
  • Visit an E-ZPass Maryland Stop-In Center.