For Immediate Release
March 29, 2012

Contact: Sgt. Kirk E. Perez, 410-537-7724


BALTIMORE, MD On March 24, while attending the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies (CALEA) Conference, the Maryland Transportation Authority (MDTA) Police was honored with the CALEA TRI-ARC Excellence Award. The award was created to recognize entities that concurrently hold all three CALEA Accreditation Awards -- Law Enforcement, Public Safety Communications and Public Safety Training Academy.

Due to the hard work, determination and commitment of the MDTA Police sworn law-enforcement and civilian staff, the MDTA Police is the first law-enforcement agency in Maryland to achieve this status and only the seventh agency nationwide, said MDTA Chairman and Transportation Secretary Beverley K. Swaim-Staley.

The purpose of CALEAs accreditation programs is to improve the delivery of public- safety services, primarily by maintaining a body of standards developed by public-safety practitioners that cover a wide-range of up-to-date initiatives. As recipients of all three CALEA Accreditation Awards, the MDTA Police has demonstrated its ability to strengthen crime prevention and control capabilities, formalize essential management procedures, establish fair and non-discriminatory personnel practices, improve service delivery, solidify interagency cooperation and coordination and increase community and staff confidence in the agency.

According to MDTA Executive Secretary Harold M. Bartlett, This is quite an accomplishment for the men and women of this outstanding group, and one that exemplifies the professionalism and dedication that our officers and civilian staff exhibit every day.

Being honored with this distinguished award would not be possible without the support of Chairman Swaim-Staley and the entire MDTA Board, said senior MDTA police commander Major Michael Kundrat. This was certainly a cooperative effort, and we would like to thank everyone involved for their assistance. CALEA was established as an independent accrediting authority in 1979 by four law-enforcement membership associations: the International Association of Chiefs of Police, the National Organization of Black Law Enforcement Executives, the National Sheriffs Association and the Police Executive Research Forum.