May 6, 2016


BALTIMORE, MD – The Maryland Transportation Authority (MDTA) Police held its Annual Fallen Heroes Ceremony today to honor the force’s seven officers who have given their lives in the line of duty.
Off. George Neil Ramsburg, Off. Robert Franklin Pyles Sr., Off. Thomas (Jackie) Roland Crouch, Off. Duke G. Aaron III, Off. Grant Francis Turner, Cpl. Robert Thomas Krauss and Cpl. Courtney Gerald Brooks each were honored during the event held at the MDTA Police Headquarters in Baltimore.
“Time passes by, but it can never change the tragic realities brought to bear on the families, friends and fellow officers of the seven fallen whom we honor today,” said MDTA Police Chief Col. Jerry Jones. “Our heroes were taken from us too soon, and we will always be grateful for everything these seven men have given.”
Several survivors, as well as Maryland State Police Superintendent William M. Pallozzi, Maryland Department of Natural Resources Police Superintendent Robert K. Ziegler Jr. and Prince George’s County Police Chief Hank Stawinski, joined Col. Jones and the MDTA Police Honor Guard at today’s ceremony. Current and retired MDTA Police Officers also gathered to honor their fellow officers prior to the start of National Police Week.
The Maryland Transportation Authority Police, a nationally accredited force, is the seventh-largest law-enforcement agency in the state, with more than 600 sworn and civilian law-enforcement professionals. MDTA Police officers provide law enforcement at the MDTA’s highways, bridges and tunnels; at BWI Marshall Airport; and at the Port of Baltimore.
NOTE: If you choose to use an acronym, please refer to Maryland Transportation Authority as MDTA Police. Thank you.