
New Maryland traffi c ticket 
process begins January 1, 2011

On January 1, 2011, a new law goes into 
eff ect, and drivers who get a payable traffi  c 
ticket in Maryland will no longer be given 
an automatic trial date to appear in court. 
Here’s how the new Maryland traffi  c ticket 
process works: Drivers have three choices 
when they get a payable traffi  c ticket, and 
they must comply within 30 days or risk 
having their driver’s license suspended by 
the Motor Vehicle Administration. 

The three choices:

1. Pay the traffi  c ticket fi ne.

2. Ask for a waiver hearing instead of a 
trial. Waiver hearings are for drivers 
who don’t dispute the ticket, but want to 
have a judge hear an explanation before 
being sentenced.

3. Ask for a court date for a trial.

Why did the traffi c ticket 
process change? 

In 2010, the Maryland General Assembly 
passed a new law that says that citizens 
who get a traffi  c ticket for an off ense that 
does not require incarceration/jail time 
must ask for a trial if they want one. Law 
enforcement agencies asked for the new 
law because they think it will save money 
and use police offi  cers’ time more effi  ciently 
by reducing the number of hours they 
spend in court for traffi  c violations. 

What is different about the new 
traffi c ticket process?

Before January 1, 2011, Maryland law 
required that a person getting a payable 
traffi  c ticket for an off ense that does  
not require incarceration/jail time 
automatically receive a court trial 
date. Now drivers must ask for a 
trial if they want to dispute a payable 
traffi  c ticket.

What kinds of traffi c violations 
are we talking about?

Payable traffi  c violations. You have a 
payable traffi  c violation when the offi  cer 
checks “This is a payable citation” on the 
traffi  c ticket. All payable traffi  c violations 
for which no incarceration/jail time is 
required are covered under the new law. 
Examples include speeding, failure to obey 
a traffi  c signal or sign, or failure to stop for 
a school bus. 

What is another type of 
traffi c violation?

The other type is a  “Must Appear” traffi  c 
violation. These include violations such  
as driving while under the infl uence of 
alcohol or drugs or driving on a suspended 
license. These violations are not considered 
as payable.

ATTENTION DRIVERS!



What do I do if I get a traffi c 
ticket in December of 2010? 

If you get a payable traffi  c ticket prior to 
December 31, 2010, you will automatically 
receive a trial date to appear in court. You 
may still chose to pay the fi ne or request a 
waiver hearing in lieu of a trial. 

What do I do if I get a traffi c 
ticket after January 1, 2011?

If you get a payable traffi  c ticket, you 
must respond within 30 days. You can 

1. pay the full fi ne, 

2. ask for a waiver hearing, or 

3. ask for a trial.

How do I pay my traffi c ticket?

You can pay the full fi ne by mail, online by 
credit card at www.mdcourts.gov/district, 
by phone with a credit card at 1-800-492-
2656, or in person at any District Court of 
Maryland location.

What are my other choices?

You can ask for a trial date. That means 
you come to court for a trial, and the 
police offi  cer comes to your trial to testify. 

OR

You can ask for a waiver hearing, 
which means you plead guilty with an 
explanation. 

A waiver hearing is held before a judge 
in District Court, but it is not a trial and 
the offi  cer and witnesses will not be 
summoned to appear. At the hearing, 
the judge will hear from you only for the 
purpose of imposing a sentence.

How do I ask for a trial 
or a waiver hearing?

Your traffi  c ticket has instructions about 
how to pay the fi ne, ask for a waiver 
hearing, or ask for a trial date. The traffi  c 
ticket also has two boxes, where you 
can select “Request a Waiver Hearing” 
or “Request a Trial.”   You must mark 
an option on the ticket and envelope 
and mail it to the District Court traffi  c 
processing center. The address is on the 
envelope that you got with the ticket.

Where will my trial or waiver 
hearing be held?

Your trial or waiver  hearing will be held 
at the District Court in the city or county 
where you got the traffi  c ticket. If you ask 
for a waiver hearing or a trial, you will 
receive a notice by mail with the District 
Court location and the date and time of 
your trial or waiver hearing.

What happens if I miss the 30-day 
time to respond?

The District Court will notify the 
Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) 
to  suspend your driver’s license. The 
MVA will send a notice alerting you 
that you have 15 days to pay the traffi  c 
ticket or risk having your driver’s license 
suspended.
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