Skip Navigation
Maryland Department of Transportation Homepage
Follow us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterMDTA Blog ListingsRSS Feed Listings

About the MDTA

MDTA Meetings and Minutes

MDTA Police

Toll Facilities

I-95 Express Toll Lanes

Toll Rate Calculator

Toll Rate Tables


Traffic Advisories
Traffic Cameras

News Center


Emergency Information

Employment Opportunities

Projects and Studies

Public-Private Partnerships

Business with MDTA

I-95 Travel Plazas

Bookmark and Share
Download a free version of Adobe Acrobat Reader


About the MDTA | Mission, Vision & Values | Governing Body | Organizational Chart | Toll Facilities
Statute, Regulations & Trust Agreement | Finances | Strategic Plans
Governing Body

MDTA LogoThe MDTA is a group of citizens appointed by the Governor with the consent of the Maryland Senate. Of the appointed Members, one shall have expertise in structural engineering, one in transportation planning, one in land use planning, and one in finance. Appointed Members shall reflect the racial, gender, and geographic diversity of the population of the State. As a result of a modification to the MDTA's enabling legislation as of January 1, 2007 appointments are for staggered terms of four years and may not extend beyond three consecutive terms.

Our current membership represents the geographic regions in which our toll facilities are located-the upper and middle Eastern Shore, Southern Maryland, the Baltimore-metropolitan region and the Washington-metropolitan region. This group serves as our policy-setting, decision-making and governing body. Maryland's Secretary of Transportation serves as the MDTA's Chairman.

The MDTA Chairman and Members meet monthly to discuss and approve policy and operations activity. Additionally, two Committee meetings are held monthly: the Capital Committee and Finance Committee link to meeting calendar. Four Members are assigned to each Committee. These meetings are held in accordance with the Open Meetings Act. Minutes from the meetings can be found in the meeting minutes archive.

Governing Body:


Chairman Pete K Rahn

Chairman: Pete K. Rahn
Peter J. BassoMember: Peter J. Basso
Rev. Dr. William C. CalhounMember: Rev. Dr. William C. Calhoun, Sr.
Mary Beyer Halsey

Member: Mary Beyer Halsey

Michael J. Whitman

Member: Michael J. Whitson

Arthur Hock

Member: Arthur Hock

William K. Hellmann

Member: William K. Hellmann

Katrina DennisKatrina J. Dennis
Member W. Lee Gaines Jr.Member W. Lee Gaines, Jr.
Executive Director:
Bruce GartnerExecutive Director: Bruce Gartner


Contact Us  |   Accessibility  |   Privacy Notice  |   Terms of Use

E-ZPass and Video Tolling Customer Service - Toll Free: 1 (888) 321-6824
MDTA Management Offices: 2310 Broening Highway, Baltimore, MD 21224
Local: (410) 537-1000 - Out of Area: 1 (866) 713-1596